Marc Coma World Champion of Dakar 2011   

    10th consecutive World Championship Rally Dakar for KTM

     On Saturday, January 15, 2011 the 33rd edition of the Rally Dakar was completed. The name of Mark Coma was written in history as World Champion in the 2011 tournament. The third championship in his career which is the same number with that of Despres was a great reason for celebration.

     Having traveled about 9600 kilometers and winning 5 of the 13 stages of the race Coma finished first, followed by Despres 15 minutes behind, taking into account the10 minutes penalty imposed. Cyril Despres, the second KTM factory rider, managed to get three stage wins. Together with Coma, there were 8 Ktm victories in 13 stages of the Dakar 2011.

     The triumph for the KTM, however, is even greater when one considers that the title in Rally Dakar was won for the 10th consecutive year. This demonstrates that this rally is a triumph for the Austrian factory. Also, KTM factory has one more reason to be proud off, as 9 out of 11 top riders in general ranking of the Dakar 2011, were riding KTM.

     Final ranking Dakar 2011 by KTM:

     1. COMA (ESP), KTM

     2. DESPRES (FRA), KTM




     8. FARIA (PRT),KTM

     9. CZACHOR (POL), KTM

     10. KNUIMAN (NLD), KTM


A video for Dakar 2011