Lorenzo wins in Australia, Marquez disqualified, Aleix Espargaro becomes the 2013 CRT champion

Failing to acknowledge the pre-determined pit window, after the latest regulation for the specific round of motoGP, Marquez was shown the black flag. 

Prior to the race, it was announced that the duration would decrease from 27 to 19 laps on the grounds of safety, with tyre degradation throughout practice having been significantly higher than expected on the newly-resurfaced Phillip Island circuit. Furthermore, all riders would be obliged to pit for bike changes on either the ninth or tenth laps of the race, while also running the harder available compound throughout.

A stupid and disrepectful thing to happen: Someone is flashing a LED on  Lorenzo's helmet. 

A clean start saw no fallers, with Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) attacking Lorenzo at the Honda hairpin but the Yamaha Factory Racing man immediately retaking the top spot on the run into Siberia. The sensation would come with the mandatory pit window, with MarquezĘs teammate Pedrosa first to peel off from third place at the end of Lap 9 and followed by numerous other riders.

Őarquez's tyre after 11 laps

Lorenzo would pit at the end of the tenth tour but, having expected a pit lane duel with Marquez, saw the 20-year-old rookie continue for another circulation of the circuit. Marquez then pitted at the end of Lap 11, outside the pre-determined pit-in window of Laps 9 and 10. In a remarkable twist for the 2013 World Championship battle, Marquez was disqualified as was Australian Bryan Staring (GO&FUN Honda Gresini) as the same error had been committed.

Having escaped a touch with Marquez as the latter rejoined from the pits, Lorenzo went on to claim win number six of the season; this also marked the first time since 2006 that a rider other than the now retired Casey Stoner had clinched victory at Phillip Island! Pedrosa finished second to maintain his own title aspirations, as Yamaha Factory RacingĘs Valentino Rossi beat Monster Yamaha Tech3Ęs Cal Crutchlow and GO&FUN Honda GresiniĘs Alvaro Bautista in a thrilling contest for third, while light rain began to fall as proceedings drew to a close. Bradley Smith was sixth for Tech3, having run as high as fourth thanks to a rapid start, while the top ten was rounded out by Nicky Hayden (Ducati Team), Andrea Iannone (Energy T.I. Pramac Racing), Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) and Randy de Puniet (Power Electronics Aspar) who ended a race as lead CRT for the first time this year. The MotoGP™ fight now rages on to Motegi Twin Ring and the Grand Prix of Japan, with the championship lead having been decreased from 43 to 18 points.

 Pos.   Rider  Bike  Nation  Points
 1  Marc MARQUEZ  Honda  SPA 298
 2  Jorge LORENZO   Yamaha  SPA 280
 3  Dani PEDROSA  Honda  SPA 264
 4  Valentino ROSSI  Yamaha  ITA 214
 5  Cal CRUTCHLOW  Yamaha  GBR 179
 6  Alvaro BAUTISTA   Honda  SPA 147
 7  Stefan BRADL  Honda   GER 135
 8  Andrea DOVIZIOSO  Ducati  ITA 127
 9  Nicky HAYDEN  Ducati  USA 111
 10  Bradley SMITH  Yamaha  GBR 99


Lorenzo is the fastest, also at the qualifying at Phillip Island

 Pos.   Rider  Bike  Nation  Points
 1  Marc MARQUEZ  Honda  SPA 298
 2  Jorge LORENZO   Yamaha  SPA 255
 3  Dani PEDROSA  Honda  SPA 244
 4  Valentino ROSSI  Yamaha  ITA 198
 5  Cal CRUTCHLOW  Yamaha  GBR 166
 6  Alvaro BAUTISTA   Honda  SPA 136
 7  Stefan BRADL  Honda   GER 135
 8  Andrea DOVIZIOSO  Ducati  ITA 120
 9  Nicky HAYDEN  Ducati  USA 102
 10  Bradley SMITH  Yamaha  GBR 89

With only three rounds remaining in the 2013 MotoGP season and Marquez able to clinch an historic premier class title win this weekend, the qualifying session at Phillip Island would prove to be one of the most incident-packed of the year.

Ultimately, Lorenzo clinched his third pole of the campaign – his first since Jerez in May – courtesy of a best lap of 1Ę27.899, but this was only after the reigning World ChampionĘs Yamaha Factory Racing bike clipped a seagull.

The margin at the front would be two tenths of a second, with Marquez able to secure the world crown on Sunday if he ends the race with a points advantage of 51 or more.

In third place, Rossi – who on only three occasions in his career has failed to finish on the podium at Phillip Island – will start on the front row for the second consecutive race, ahead of GO&FUN Honda GresiniĘs Alvaro Bautista who qualified fourth but went off-track at the end of qualifying.

Fifth will be Sepang winner Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team) - who is the only rider other than Marquez and Lorenzo who retains a mathematical possibility of winning the championship - from Monster Yamaha Tech3Ęs Cal Crutchlow, who will start sixth. Row 3 will be occupied by Tech3Ęs Bradley Smith plus Ducati Team pairing Nicky Hayden and Andrea Dovizioso. Tenth on the grid will be Energy T.I. Pramac RacingĘs Andrea Iannone, who entered the Q2 shootout from Q1, as was also the case with Dovizioso. SundayĘs Tissot Australian Grand Prix begins at 4pm local time (GMT +11).